Nadia Elkharadly: TIFF 2013 Wrap Up – Party Casualties

moiIt’s now just past mid September.  A distinct fall breeze is in the air, and all over Toronto girls are putting away their strappy sandals and mini party dresses, and boys are starting to wear socks with their spikey loafers and shirts under their cardigans.  Most noticeably, the streets of Toronto have finally been cleared of hordes of screaming fans, red carpets, velvet ropes, and the celebrities, actors and actresses that walk on and behind them.  That’s right: the Toronto International Film Festival is over for another year.  While the festival was a mostly fun and interesting time, there were some unfortunate casualties.  Party casualties, that is.

tiff2013

The term party casualty may seem strange, but if you think about it, it kind of makes sense.  Many things can end up lost, sacrificed or forgotten in the throes of an intense party oriented few days.  Heavy drinking, late nights, lack of sleep all aid in creating a fairly disoriented and fuzzy frame of mind.  Add in the four AM last calls at bars and similar establishments, the higher focus on fashion and being “seen”, party hopping, and all the trappings that come with the couple of weeks around TIFF and you’ve got a more prime than usual set of circumstances for party casualties.  I myself experienced a loss this very TIFF.

Nads and MarkI like to call my personal style “rocker chic”. Yes it’s a bit of a play on that loathsome term “rocker chick”, but it also suits how I like to dress fairly well I think: as fashionably as I can muster, with a definite slant to a standard rock aesthetic.  In my wardrobe you can generally find leather and metal accents, lots of black, and mixing of the casual with the refined.  One combination I’ve been enjoying lately is the graphic or logo fronted tshirt or tank top paired with a skirt and sleek blazer or leather jacket, depending on the occasion.  On this particular occasion, I’d put together a stellar outfit that featured an awesome sequined mini skirt, my vintage Jimi Hendrix tshirt (from House of Vintage on Queen West – you should DEFINITELY go), all topped off with my favourite tuxedo blazer (pictured here).  I managed to make it to two parties I experienced my TIFF party casualty situation.  Dancing my face off at the Drake Hotel’s main bar proved too strenuous for the layered look I’d put together, so off the jacket came, only to slip off my purse after I’d slung it there.  I managed to miraculously find it, so I put the beautiful wool and silk blended specimen on the bench next to me, thinking it would be safe. Cut to a few minutes later and it was gone, likely in the possession of a drunk girl who mistook it for her own, or a savvy thief with fabulous taste.  Either way, due to trying my luck and the haze of vodka, my poor jacket is now lost to me, and that really, really sucks.

The coat or jacket is a fairly common party casualty, especially at that strange in between seasons time of year, where you probably need at least a light jacket to go out, but bars and clubs have yet to put in a coat check facility to safeguard these items. Though it was the first jacket I’d lost at a party, it wasn’t my first party casualty, though it was one of the few that actually stayed gone.  The loss of keys, be they house, car, cuffzoffice or otherwise, is not at all uncommon in a party setting.  I once left my car AND housekeys at a bar simply because I was demonstrating that the handcuffs that make up my purse handle (Cuffz by Linz – you should look into it) were real and functional.  Silly me, I’d put my handcuff key on my general keychain and left the whole shebang on couch at Amber in Yorkville.  Thanks to my very sweet and far more responsible friend Meg, my keys were immediately retrieved and held for me until I came back for them.  That’s right, I’d made it all the way home before I’d realized what my fool, drunk self had done.   I tell people the cuffs are fake now just so I don’t pull that stupid move again.  But many aren’t as lucky I am.  Every early Sunday morning the floors of bars and clubs everywhere are littered with the housekeys of now locked out of their home drunks, little metal fallen soldiers of the war on sobriety.

phonesOf course, one can’t forget the most common party casualties is the now ubiquitous cellular phone.  In this day and age you can’t look into a room filled with happy, well dressed drinkers without seeing at least 80% of their non-drink holding hands filled with a mobile device of one sort or another.  But due to the inherent portability and small size of most of these digital addictions, they are already very easily put down and forgotten, misplaced, or dropped.  Add in the fuzzying effects of multiple alcoholic beverages and you amplify that ease of lose-ability even further.  A drop back in the purse misjudged by a few inches, a slip out of a pocket, or a leave at the bar after picking up more drinks and more than one heart ends up broken at the loss of one’s high-tech bestie.  I came close to losing my phone once at Cherry Cola’s.  The black glass and plastic outline of my phone blended so perfectly into the sleek and darkly painted bar that I completely forgot it was there…until I had walked about 3 blocks away from the bar towards home.  One panicked run back led to the discovery that my phone was…exactly where I left it.  One dance of gratitude and a few hugs of surprised patrons I may or may not have known, I restarted my journey home, phone clutched firmly in my grateful hands.  A near party casualty turned into a tale with a happy ending; a rare thing indeed.

What’s party casualties have you suffered?  Be a doll and share in the comments below!  And of course, be safe, have fun, and keep on partying J

Until next time,

Xo

N

=NE=

Nadia’s column appears every Wednesday

Contact us at: dbawis@rogers.com

DBAWIS ButtonNadia Elkharadly is a Toronto based writer with a serious addiction to music. Corporate drone by day, renegade rocker by night, writing is her creative outlet.  Nadia writes for the Examiner (.com) on live music in Toronto and Indie Music in Canada.  She has never been in a band but plays an awesome air guitar and also the tambourine.  Check in every Tuesday for musings about music, love, life and whatever else that comes to mind.

addicted mag

Leave a Reply

