Segarini: Obli-Dee, Obli-Da

Bob 2015

I remember the day she showed up on my doorstep.

Swaddled in Styrofoam, and gently cradled in a large cardboard manger, she was delivered by a man all dressed in brown, a small patch on his shirt with the letters ‘UPS’ emblazoned in gold lettering over his heart. He handed me an electronic clipboard and a stylus attached to it by a miniature bungee cord and said, “Sign here.”

???????????????????????????????

=0=

She passed away 2 weeks ago doing what she loved to do. Having me hunched over her keyboard pecking out columns, editing others, and downloading movies and television shows I missed because I spent so much time with her.

SickShe had gained a lot of intellectual weight while she lived with me, going from her slim, barely sentient youth to her bursting-at-the-seams with content both new and irreplaceable…so full of memories, information, and artistic creations, that she could no longer move as quickly as she had in the past. She was overweight, sluggish, and developed a sort of arthritis, breaking out in little aches and pains that forced me to find work-arounds, and muster up even more patience than I already possessed. She grew irritable, mean-spirited, and would cause me much grief as she refused to allow me to access some of her information, stalling, then freezing into silence, until I had to revive her in order to complete whatever we were working on.

She became obstinate, a Diva, and in the end, at the very end, when I gave her one last reboot to finish a column, she just never came back.

She was gone for good.

=0=

There were plenty of good times for us though. Right up until the end, she always came through, always completed her chores…and when we finished a project and relaxed together with a movie, or a TV show, or with music, the view and sound she provided was always crystal clear, always a wonder, always beautiful.

=0=

CrashThe life drained from her right before my eyes.

I was stunned at first. I could not accept the fact that she was no more.

I frantically tried to revive her.

I stood over her for hours, reboot after reboot, one failed attempt after another in an effort to bring her back to life, but in the end, I had to back away. I had to accept the truth.

The old girl was never going to spring back to life.

Windows Crash

But wait!

What about her heart? Her soul? Her brain?

What about her hard drive?

Could she, in a sense, still be saved?

I wanted to save her but I couldn’t. I had neither the skills nor the means to do any more than I had done. It seemed…impossible.

=0=

FriendsMy father always said that you are lucky to have friends in your life that are true friends. He told me that most people can count them on the fingers of both hands if they are lucky enough, though some never are.

I have such friends.

Wonderful, true, friends.

…and it is because of these friends that I am able to type this prose, find the appropriate pictures, and post my thoughts, and the thoughts of others online for all to see.

It is because of these friends that my work will continue, and I will hear the music that motivates me, and see the movies and television shows that both entertain and inspire me.

Segarini Brothers

It is because of these friends that the only existing pictures of my family, my youth, and all the moments in my life that were captured in photographs and videos, on film and on vinyl, that have been lost or misplaced, or destroyed,  can still be conjured up. still watched and heard, still shared with those I love, and maybe be enjoyed beyond what I had envisioned just 2 weeks ago…and lyrics I can no longer remember may someday be finally set to music, instead of never being read or heard by anyone.

Hard driveOne of these friends took her heart, her hard drive, which anyone else would have callously tossed aside. It is near impossible to bring them back alive, or intact. I was told there may be a chance some of her memories and information could be saved, but no way to know how much, if any, would still be there.

5 days later, I received a call. He had saved everything there was on her hard drive.

Everything.

A miracle.

MiracleIt is because of these friends that she lives on…in a new and much healthier body, a body very much like her old one, only young, spirited, giving her back her old speed, her ability to move as fast…even faster…than she did in the old days. So here she is, courtesy of a group of friends who have made it possible. She sits shining and new, with a new lease on life, which I have sworn to protect and respect in order to keep her around for a good many more years.

Oh, that we could do the same for the people and pets we love and lose throughout our lives.

=0=

Unlike some, these friends do not reach out to help some cause or someone for recognition. They do it out of an honest desire to help, to contribute, to make a difference. You will not see them bragging on the internet, or telling their friends what good people they are, or look for a pat on the back from strangers and acquaintances. They know who they are and what they have done. They know how grateful I am. And they know that everything I accomplish from this moment forward is because of their intervention and assistance, their kindness and compassion. Helping hands I shall never forget.

grateful

I literally could not do anything I am doing without the generous and spontaneous gestures they felt compelled to make on my behalf.

I did not ask for their help. They gave it before I even thought of asking.

True and honest friends.

=0=

Maybe all of us have been blessed with these kinds of people…these kinds of friends.

Mom and Dad February 1958I have had help from my parents and family, help from those who felt I was talented and needed a leg up. I have a friend who helped me be able to move twice, a friend who made a dream come true, and friends who have encouraged and inspired me to follow my dreams, discover new ways to express myself, and even to take a chance and change careers when most would encourage me to stay put and not take chances. Friends who have put food on my table and drinks in my glass, when I was without means to do so myself.

I think about repaying all this kindness every day. In some cases, I could only pay it forward, and regardless of my current situation, I look forward to the day when I will be able to do just that.

Even though I have not been asked to.

Even though it’s not expected.

Nevertheless…I will work toward doing exactly that.

…because this gift of being able to continue creating, and archiving, and working, gives me renewed energy and vigor.

I have varied, engaging interests, can actively pursue my creative goals, I am blessed with an amazing family, incredible friends, and a woman who loves me who I love equally in return.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Each and every one of you.

=0=

Asus 1

ASUS 3D 24 Inch All-In-One PC

July 2011 – March 2015

Rest in Peace Old Friend

Asus 2

…and Welcome Back, too.

=0=

Any Questions or comments, please write them in the Comment Section below.

Your Comments Are Welcome

Segarini’s regular columns appear here eventually.

Contact us at dbawis@rogers.com

Bob “The Iceman” Segarini was in the bands The Family Tree, Roxy, The Wackers, The Dudes, and The Segarini Band and nominated for a Juno for production in 1978. He also hosted “Late Great Movies” on CITY TV, was a producer of Much Music, and an on-air personality on CHUM FM, Q107, SIRIUS Sat/Rad’s Iceberg 95, (now 85), and now publishes, edits, and writes for DBAWIS, continues to write music, make music, and record.

3 Responses to “Segarini: Obli-Dee, Obli-Da”

  1. Warren Cosford Says:

    WONDERFUL

  2. Peter Montreuil Says:

    Well put.

Leave a Reply

