Cameron Carpenter – 10 CC – Current Events

 

Cam Profile Pic

Well hello June. Time to get outside and see some shows, throw a few lawn bowls,  and,  get inside to watch some Euros (C’mon England!).  I have lived in Toronto my entire life and try to enjoy everything this city has to offer.

  1. John Tory

John Tory Tiff William White 2015

Photo by Thomas Sandler at the William F. White party TIFF 2015

I like our Mayor. I first met him about twenty years ago when we ended up sharing a table together at a Bitove Foundation golf tournament. I enjoyed my conversation with him and his wife Barbara Hackett, a good first impression and one that has remained with me. Mayor Tory is a supporter of the arts and that is good news for many of us in the business. Earlier this week I found myself at Christie Pitts where our Mayor, in conjunction with the Toronto Arts Foundation, announced a series of family friendly events that will take place in our parks across the city this summer.  He spoke passionately about the events (which include theatre, music and film) but what impressed me the most was that long after the gaggle of press had left Tory spent a good five minutes with a group of children who were enjoying the park, answering their questions and engaging them in a dialog.  It is also nice to see him attend so many cultural events. This photo was snapped last year at the annual William F. White Tiff event.

  1. Live From City Hall

City_Hall,_Toronto,_Ontario

Did you know that Toronto artists appear every couple of weeks in the lobby of City Hall on Thursdays between 5 PM – 7 PM? Did you know you can enjoy a glass of wine or a beer at said event? There have been some great performances so far and you can check out the schedule here: http://tinyurl.com/qeq48snYou will also see a program called 311 where local artists are played when people are on hold when they call the City of Toronto about an issue. If you are selected for either program (local artists only) there is a small payment for your song or performance. The “Live From City Hall” program will shortly be moving outdoors to Nathan Phillip Square.

  1. Mike Tanner

mike-tanner-5.jpg.size.custom.crop.1086x724

Mike and I first met when we both worked at NXNE. It was obvious at our first meeting, on the patio of the Horseshoe and orchestrated by Wendi-Jane Hayden, that we both worked in a similar style. We are conduits and nothing pleases us more than putting people together and enhancing both of their relationships. Mike is now the Music Officer for the City of Toronto and works very hard trying to make it easier for musicians to perform in this city and to keep as much bureaucracy out of the picture as possible. He helped initiate Live From City Hall and 311 and, although he can’t change smoking or parking by-laws he can either answer your music questions or put you in touch with someone who can. He, along with his team and sympathetic councillors such as John Filion, Josh Cole and Mary- Margaret McMahon, are trying to make Toronto a better city for music and the arts.

  1. Field Trip

Fort York Field Trip

I am off this weekend to Fort York for the annual Arts & Crafts outdoor festival Field Trip. It should be two fun days in the sun and I am also looking forward to spending that time with my son Kyle. Twenty years ago when headliner Robyn was in Toronto performing at the YTV Awards I took Kyle and his sister Kari to meet Robyn and love looking at the pictures of the then pre-teens. Hopefully we will get a chance to say hello on Sunday. I am looking forward to seeing The National, July Talk, Plants & Animals, The Beaches and Prism Prize winner Kalle Matson.

  1. Bestival

bestival-2016-lineup

I did not attend last year but the prospect of a world class festival in my local community, The Beach, is too much to resist. This one looks like a lot more of a discovery festival for me as there are a lot of bands that I have never heard of. Of the ones I have I am really looking forward to see The Twilight Sad, Tame Impala and, spending my birthday (also Robyn’s birthday) with The Cure.

  1. Fighting Fire With Funny

Ryan Belleville

Ryan Belleville

Although Highway 63 opened on Wednesday and people are slowly heading back to Fort McMurray, the fire is still burning and residents still need a lot of help. My friend and neighbour Ryan Belleville is hosting an event this Sunday at The Rivoli with an incredible line-up of talent and all proceeds going to the Canadian Red Cross. Details can be found here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1213107578709179/

  1. Music On TV

face on view of retro television

Maybe it is my new digital antennae and the fact that I can now watch Cobert and James Corden but I have been seeing some great music on television lately. Catfish & The Bottlemen were great on Corden’s show (who I find charming) and it was fantastic to see Wolf Parade playing on Colbert, who I much prefer in his new incarnation. I was also impressed with Band of Horses and their brilliant new single “Casual Party”.

  1. 1966

1966-savage-72dpi

I am really enjoying the massive read that is “1966 – The Year The Decade Exploded” by Jon Savage. I was only 7 that year but still remember a lot of the music and political events that took place. It covers music, fashion, politics, civil rights, Vietnam all of the major events that took place in North America and the U.K. which made the year such a turning point in our history.

  1. Playlist

Here are the most played songs on my iPod at the moment….

“All for One” – The Stone Roses

“I Can Swing A Hammer” – The Wet Secrets

“Whitestone City Limits” – Jesse Malin

“Push + Pull” – July Talk

“Private School” – The Arkells

  1. Lou Dawg’s

Every Thursday night I can be found at Lou Dawg’s at Church & Gerrard as Indie Week takes over the stage. Come on by, see some great entertainment and come have a Jack’n’Coke and a chat.

=CC=

Cam’s column appears every Thursday.

Follow Cam on Twitter @CC59, Instagram @Cambo1959 and Spotify @Cambo59

Contact us at: dbawis@rogers.com.

dbawis-button7Cameron Carpenter has written for The New Music Magazine, Music Express, The Asylum, The Varsity, The Eye Opener,  The New Edition, Shades, Bomp!, Driven Magazine, FYI Music News, The Daily XY, New Canadian Music, NXNE Magazine and Don’t Believe A Word I Say.

Leave a comment